bean-by-number: turkish tiles

November 5, 2010 § 12 Comments

I hope you enjoyed the pictures of Istanbul’s İznik tiles in the previous post and can make sense of how my crazed bean art adventure last night resulted in the following design.Iznik tile-inspired bean art

As I mentioned in the previous post, I would like to create, over time, an assortment of crafts based on childhood art techniques.  What I didn’t mention is that, for a fraction of that assortment, I would like to design various bean-by-number crafts.  It’s exactly like paint-by-number, but with beans!   So, owing it to inspiring Istanbul, here is my first design of bean-by-number.  Go wild!bean-by-number turkish tile

Here is where you can download the bean-by-number sheet I’ve designed for you.  Listed is the sequence of beans I used, but it’s just a suggestion:

1. Red beans

2. Black turtle beans

3. Mung beans

4. Black-eyed peas

5. White navy beans

I reversed the red beans and mung beans for the second round as an alternate color scheme.iznik tile-inspired bean art

Tagged: , ,

§ 12 Responses to bean-by-number: turkish tiles

  • mesalisa says:

    Hello Jeromina,
    I saw your butternut squash centerpieces on my Google front page today, and was so tickled by the photo that I promptly went to investigate just who might the person be who makes something like that. Your style makes me smile. Two of your ideas especially thrilled me today: this bean-by-number tile project; and the rolled paper chess set. I just plain adore that you’re expressing elegant original ideas using common materials and artplay techniques every former child probably remembers. Great work!
    Big fan–Lisa

    • Hi Lisa! Thank you! I’m glad that you found my blog. I understand the butternut squashes were featured on CRAFT at craftzine.com earlier, but had no idea it was also on Google. That’s great to know! I’m happy to hear that you are enjoying the projects here. I definitely want to ensure the crafts that I make would incorporate materials that are easy to find. Keep posted, I’ve got lots of crafting in store in preparation for the Christmas holidays!
      -Jer

  • Kait says:

    I too saw the Squash centerpiece on Google (it was a recommended link in my Google Reader) and did some exploring. I LOVE the bean-by-number! Did you use a glue gun? It would be SO kitschy-cool in my condo.

    • I’m happy that you’re getting in the groove of the bean-by-number! I didn’t use a glue gun. As I worked through each area, I brushed on generous amounts of white glue. My fave is Weldbond, it’s the one glue that has never let me down. 🙂
      -jer

  • […] I mentioned my big aspiration to design a series of bean-by-number crafts, and started with the bean-by-number Turkish tiles.  Well, it’s been long overdue, but I finally have a second to add to the series.  This […]

  • nalan güler says:

    Merhaba Jeromina,
    Ben Türkiyeden Nalan.
    Ülkeme ve çini sanatına gösterdiğin ilgi için teşekkür ederim.
    Sevgiler

  • keman kutusu says:

    hi, I’m from turkey.I would like to thank you for inspration with “cini” turkish tiles.good work!

  • […] was hoping this would be my third installment of my bean-by-number series (the first being the Turkish tiles back in November and the second, Venetian masks, for mardi gras in February).  However, the […]

  • […] your choice.  I chose navy beans only because I still have some left over from previous projects: bean-by-number Turkish tiles, bean-by-number Venetian mask, and gold bean […]

  • Savannah says:

    How did you get the beans to stay in place? Some sort of glue I’d assume?

  • Anonymous says:

    Hi Jeromina!
    Thx for your lovely blog where you share fantastic ideas,experience and handicraft productions..I love visiting every single part of it..
    Warmest greetings from İzmir/Turkey
    Ayfer

  • segmation says:

    Since you are into beans, have you ever thought about “How To Create Bean Art: A Tutorial”?

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading bean-by-number: turkish tiles at paper, plate, and plane.

meta