leopard décor orbs

January 11, 2011 § 8 Comments

O.T. and I have short nightly reviews of my projects here.  He had little insight on yesterday’s leopard lunch bag luminaries other than “It’s okay, just not up to your caliber”.  It’s interesting to be told what isn’t my caliber, which leaves me to wonder what is.  Where is potato-stamping ranked along my yardstick of creativity?  I thought it through and know he isn’t altogether right.  Sure potato-stamping is a rudimentary craft, but it doesn’t mean the method will produce elementary results.  Not always.  Not if I can help it.

At the same time as I made the leopard luminaries, I fashioned these décor orbs using the same leopard potato stamps that have been well exploited on this blog for the past two posts (now make it three).

There’s little to this project other than said stamps (if you’re just tuning in, you can see me make leopard potato stamps on a previous post here),  styrofoam balls, acrylic paints, and some glossy podge.

I really wanted to leopardize a pair of canvas shoes when I realized I don’t own canvas shoes to begin with!  Darn, that would’ve been the best of the series, had the idea materialized.  I would love to see if any of you have leopardized any objects from home.  But alas, for me, this shall be the last time my lovely leopard makes its impression.  It’s been three days.  Potato stamps meet compost.  Compost, potato stamps.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to leopard décor orbs

  • donni says:

    LOL! I didn’t know leopards laid eggs! I think they would be especially cute in a glass bowl with, hm, zebra eggs. And maybe black balls.
    I really like the idea of the canvas shoes.

  • Jeromina says:

    Crack me up!! O.T. quipped “I didn’t think leopard eggs are THAT big!” when he saw what I made. Great idea, Donni, zebra eggs would be just as fun! 😀
    P.S. I really had to refrain myself from calling them leopard balls. :O

  • Suzi says:

    Sorry but I can see up to a month of leopard print ideas for your blog. Shoes would be great. Wrapping paper, lunch bags, purse, dog jacket, baby blanket, book-cover, and the ideas keep coming. I’m thinking of printing the hem edge of a pillow and flat sheet to dress up some plain old sheets. Thanks for the possibilities. What about decorating hard boiled eggs for a Sunday morning surprise?

  • Connie says:

    Thanks for the cute ideas and the laughs. I got here via “craft” -this post was featured in their newsletter.

  • Laura says:

    If I knew how to put photos onto the computer, I’d show you the bumper of my 2001 green Subaru Forrester, covered in leopard duct tape. My husband thinks it’ll all look like crap in a few months, but at least for now everyone know which Subaru is mine!

  • I love this!! Such a great idea! I keep wanting to try potato stamping; I love that you used yours to make leopard print!!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading leopard décor orbs at paper, plate, and plane.

meta