grand wedding plans

May 15, 2012 § 14 Comments

Finally.  PLANS.  Plans as small and grand as small and grand can be.  Plans that absolutely make me the happiest bride-to-be!
It took a while to get here, as you’ve known.  A lot of options, opinions, and operatics (that, mostly from me).  Now all is clear (dare I throw the word, opacified?).  O.T. and Iwill be getting married at the bottom of the Grand Canyon on the 3rd of July!  It will be small — our parents and my brother only.  And it will be kept that way — the only way to the bottom is by helicopter and O.T. and I have arranged for two private helicopters to take us and our small party there, along with a minister and photographer.
It’s miles away from the San Francisco City Hall wedding I initially wanted, isn’t it?  I’m glad we got here.  The process was worthwhile though prolonged.  Nothing was making anyone happy.  The prospect of City Hall dampened most of everyone’s celebratory mood.  But the grand plans expected of us were not catered to us, and definitely not to me.  I don’t care, never cared, for the big party and will not be throwing one.  One day in March, O.T. suggested we get hitched in Las Vegas, where we met for the second time after our serendipitous meeting in San Francisco.   Then it hit me — we can get married in the Grand Canyon!  Afterall, our first road trip together was to the Grand Canyon from Las Vegas back in 2008.  It all makes sense.  And this is so much more exciting than City Hall!
 
For the first time in our year-long engagement, EVERYTHING makes sense.  The past month has been one big happy DIY brainstorm.  And what’s great is O.T. is letting me do my thing (which, to a chronic crafter like me, is a relief!).   I’ve started to make all the little items that will make our wedding the best the Grand Canyon did see!
Over the next 7 weeks, I will be posting all the tutorials of our wedding DIY, in unfinished pieces, of course — you will see the big picture when it is all put together in July!
It’s crafting time!

§ 14 Responses to grand wedding plans

  • Anonymous says:

    Yeahh!!! So happy you finally decided and it is what makes YOU happy! : ) Perfect day, too!! (that’s Keith’s birthday) ; ) Happy wedding planning! Enjoy and savor every moment, as it goes by so very fast!

  • So happy to hear that you are making this about you and your fiance and not trying to please everyone else! That can be one of the biggest challenges in planning a wedding, which I’m all too aware of since I’m in the middle of planning my own. I can’t wait to see what crafting ideas you’re planning. Good luck!

    • Jeromina says:

      Thanks, Bethany! A couple of my Turkish friends just came to visit the other week and put frankly: “How is his family letting you get away with this kind of wedding?!?” LOL. But I’m sure his mom will understand it when it happens, and I’m hoping she’ll be proud of the outcome. It’s been so fun planning something concrete. I’m sure you’re enjoying yours, too!! 😀

  • Cathy M. says:

    GOOD FOR YOU! Funny how a person can be so excited for someone she’s never really met.
    All the best to you, JJ and OT.

    Cathy M

  • Maggie says:

    Hi Jeromina,

    Wow you’re getting married too ( ours will be this december) and it is going to be so unique! can’t wait to see your wedding pics get to all bridal websites and probably bridal magazines too.

    Wish you all the best!

    P.S.

    I’m still D-I-Ying my invitations 😀

    Regards,

    Magz

    • Jeromina says:

      Thanks, Maggie! How is all the wedding planning? Oooh, gotta love DIY invites! I didn’t realize this would all be so fun! I did this for 4 and half years for other brides and I thought I hated weddings after that. Hahah!

  • juliennelw says:

    Am so happy that you’re planning what you want and your fiance is supportive that’s key! Can’t wait to see upcoming snaps of what you as the “crafter” will be making/creating for your once-in-a-lifetime Special Day!

    • Jeromina says:

      Thanks so much, Julienne! It’s been a crazy month of crafting in May! I can’t wait to post everything…but lots of stuff still needs to get done! :p

  • Gayla says:

    Don’t forget to craft little parachutes! I know a couple who got married (quickly) on the way down. They met sky diving, of course. I hate high places so it sounds awful until you get to the bottom and then it sounds great. I thought you could go down and back up on mules. No? Talk about a beautiful venue! Woo Hoo!

    • Jeromina says:

      Oh my goodness, that was one crazy wedding! How amazing!! I’ve gone skydiving, so I can appreciate what they’ve done! I love all your stories, Gayla! They always make me smile. 🙂 And laugh out loud! Hahaha, I’m still laughing about the “harvest gold punch bowl”. Hahaha.

  • Yay! I’m so happy for you!!!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading grand wedding plans at paper, plate, and plane.

meta