when in rome

October 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

Last night’s dinner of spaghetti al nero di seppia is a good segue to showcase some of the marvelous sights I saw in Italy.  Of course, when in Italy, you must do the holy trinity of tourism: Rome, Florence, and Venice.  I admit, I dabbled in a fair ration of classical art and architecture history some time ago, so Rome was the seat of the world to me.  Unexpectedly, I fell in love with Florence instead, perhaps because I hadn’t studied it with such diligence and it took me by surprise.  What’s even more surprising was Venice didn’t leave me with an impression of being as romantic as it is perceived.  I found it was beautiful in the day, yet so dark and mysterious at night.  Whenever I visit Italy next, I plan to see more of Tuscany.  The striking views of endless lines of cypress trees along the route from Rome to Florence really called to me.  My trip to Italy was definitely an endeavor in architecture.  More on my perspectives of food and culture to follow.

italy rome colosseum

In Rome: the colosseum in its grandeur.

italy roman forum

In Rome: the ruins within the ancient Roman Forum.

italy rome pantheon

In Rome: the Pantheon from beneath its oculus and from the exterior.

italy rome st. peter's

In the Vatican: St. Peter's Basilica's arm and dome.

italy florence

In Florence: the Duomo at dusk and an afternoon view from above.

italy venice

In Venice: gondolas in a canal and a gondolier in the Grand Canal passing the Rialto Bridge.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading when in rome at paper, plate, and plane.

meta