cn tower building blocks

February 23, 2011 § 7 Comments

This week on Iron CraftChallenge #8: Hometown.  The challenge is to craft something representing your hometown.

This week is for you, my Toronto!  What a significant coincidence that I’m also writing a Travel Crafty article on Toronto for Craft tomorrow.  It’s all a great reminder for me just how spectacular this city is.

We, Torontonians, have had the greatest pride and fortune of being home of the tallest tower in the entire world, the CN Tower, for thirty four years.  Only recently (in the fall of last year) was this title replaced by the Canton Tower in Guangzhou, China.  From 1976 to 2010, the CN Tower held the world record with a height of 553 meters (1,815 feet) — that means the tower stands half a kilometer high into the sky, or a good one-third of a mile!

So I thought it fit to craft building blocks of Toronto’s most famous icon with simple permanent markers, 1″ cubes of wood (pre-sealed with a coat of clear polish to avoid bleeding), and an abiding love for architecture.

Here are a couple of views of Toronto’s skyline showing off the incredible height of the CN Tower.  To the left, O.T. and I took a shot of downtown Toronto from across the lake in Centre Island.  To the right is a view of the CN Tower at night from a regular city street.  Every night, the tower is lit up with changing colorful lights.

These are views from right beneath and atop the tower when we went up two years ago.  The CN Tower offers a fantastic 360-degree view of Toronto, with views as far as Niagara Falls on a clear, sunny day.  What you see here is the view of Toronto’s financial core (most of those skyscrapers are banks).  Notice that O.T. and I are lying on a glass floor on the observation deck.  Yes, about half a kilometer or a third of a mile directly below us is a combination of grass and pavement!

If you love heights, Toronto is waiting for you!

Stay tuned for more on Toronto on Craft: Travel Crafty this week!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to cn tower building blocks

  • Mary says:

    Hi Jeromina
    I love these blocks.
    I also live in T.O. and am very proud of it. I am a couchsurfer who offers my home to others who are traveling. I take my guests on a tour of the city I love so much. I consider myself an ambassador for the city.
    We really are lucky to live here.
    Mary

    • Jeromina says:

      Hi Mary,
      Yay, a fellow Torontonian!!! Sometimes I take it for granted, then when I am taking an out-of-towner around, I get to see Toronto in a different light and truly realize how lucky we are to live here.

  • kat says:

    I remember watching Canada Day fireworks from up at the top & having the fireworks beneath us!

  • Your man is adorable! The space needle is my home-town equivalent 🙂 Haven’t done iron crafts….maybe I should start, too late??

  • Vone says:

    Great idea. Also from Toronto and my kids love that we live closer to downtown and they get to see the CN all the time. This would also make a great gift for my nephew.
    Thanks for the idea.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading cn tower building blocks at paper, plate, and plane.

meta