chalkboard clock

November 8, 2010 § 3 Comments

A chalkboard clock is a wonderful homemade holiday gift idea that costs no more than $10 to make.  I’ve had clock-making on my holiday crafting to-do list, but didn’t realize how timely this craft would have been had it been posted over the weekend when we moved our clocks back an hour.  Unfortunately, I hadn’t thought of that at all.  In fact, my crafting plans, at best, were indicated on my list as “make a clock” any day before Christmas.  It just so happened that I took one of my near-daily trips to Dollarama this afternoon and came across rolls of adhesive blackboard and thought it would make quite a practical face for my clock project.  What’s most practical is it took only several moves of the minute hand to complete.

All you’ll need are:

a. Adhesive blackboard, which I got for $1 at Dollarama.  If there’s no Dollarama near you, there might be other dollar stores that carry this product.  Or you can buy the blackboard paint available at craft stores.

b. Clock mechanism, which I got at Michaels for $6 (using my 50% off coupon).

c. Foam board, cut into 12″ square and cut with a hole in the center for the clock mechanism to attach.

d. Colored chalk.

All you need to do is to adhere the adhesive blackboard on the foam board, attach the clock, and doodle away.  And of course, change your design at any time!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to chalkboard clock

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading chalkboard clock at paper, plate, and plane.

meta