malted milk custard tart with oreo crust

July 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

I dedicate my latest kitchen experimentation to fellow lovers of Whoppers, Maltesers, Horlicks, Ovaltine Malt, any unbranded chocolate malt balls and malt drinks, and well, everything made of malted milk.  With all my love to you, I present this malted milk custard tart with Oreo crust!  If I had a signature dessert, this may be it.

I have had an obsession with malted milk since childhood, specifically Horlicks.  So much so that I wanted to call this “Horlicks custard tart”, however, I realize that not many people outside of Asia and Europe are aware that Horlicks exists, let alone what it is.  Well, Horlicks is a malted milk drink, like Ovaltine Malt.  I happen to be very familiar with both brands, but all my life, have favored the richness of Horlicks.  I have seen Carnation Malt being sold at Target in the US, but I have yet to try it (I’m headed to California next week, I will make sure to pack one in my luggage home).  Are you a malted milk lover?  Which malted milk mix do you most prefer?  And most importantly: Whoppers or Maltesers?

For the crust:

1 box of Oreos (30 cookies)

1/3 c butter

1. In a food processor, process Oreo cookies into crumbs.

2. Melt butter.  Pour over cookie crumbs and combine.

3. Spoon crumbs into a 10″ pie pan and press on the bottom and sides.  I used a 10″ fluted pie pan with removable bottom.

4. Bake in 350F for 10 minutes.

 

For the custard filling:

3 c milk

1-1/2 c malt powder*

1/2 c corn starch

6 egg yolks

3 tbsp sugar*

*Please note: the brand of malt powder alters the sweetness of the custard.  I used Horlicks, which is not overly sweet.  However, other brands such as Ovaltine contain more sugar and will not require any sugar to be added, as well as may require the malt powder to be reduced to as little as 1 c.  Please remember that the lack of sweetness of the malt custard will be offset by the sweetness of the Oreo crust.

1. In a small bowl, whisk corn starch in 1 c of milk until dissolved.

2. In a large sauce pan whisk malt powder in remaining milk until malt powder is dissolved.  Turn heat to medium and add corn starch mixture, egg yolks, and sugar.  Whisk continuously until the mixture boils and thickens, approximately 20 minutes.

3. Let cool slightly before pouring custard into crust.

4. Let sit at room temperature until pie is cool.  Garnish with your favorite chocolate malt balls.

5. Chill in refrigerator for at least 6 hours or overnight.

Enjoy!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to malted milk custard tart with oreo crust

  • Anke says:

    so yummy… this is a serious threat to my diet😉

    Thanks for sharing, I might make a tart just to keep me motivated in rebuilding my website *sigh*

  • Anonymous says:

    horlicks over ovaltine, hands down! they use to make a horlicks candy when i was a kid that was just AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading malted milk custard tart with oreo crust at paper, plate, and plane.

meta

