faux metal flowers

January 20, 2011 § 20 Comments

Who else here has an obsession with self-stick decorative shelf liners?  For me, not any self-stick decorative shelf liner.  I love my Con-Tact Paper (wow, this sounds like a paid endorsement — I promise it isn’t!).  Over the years, I’ve started a collection.  There are finishes like faux metal, faux leather, faux velour, and faux bois that are available at most hardware stores.  There is an endless list of crafty things to do with the material, as it provides the illusion that an object is something that it is not.  I realize, I really need to craft with this stuff more often.

I’ll start with something simple enough: faux metal flowers.  Paper flowers are the most popular of paper crafts.  Well, with a simple switch in material, those flowers are suddenly modern and cutting-edge.

You will need a roll of Con-Tact brushed metal shelf liner (I used nickel finish), brads (I used copper), and a pair of scissors.

1. Cut  a length of the liner.  Peel off backing and fold in half so that you have a double-sided sheet of faux-metal.

2. Trace petals.  You may create any shape you want, but you are welcome to use this downloadable template I whipped up to facilitate the process.

3. Cut petals.

4. Punch centers.

5. Attach petals with brad.

6. Pinch petals towards the center to add dimension.

Time to use them as embellishments!  I’m sure you can imagine all sorts of things to embellish with these flowers.  I’ll be back tomorrow to show you what I made with these.  Stay tuned!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 20 Responses to faux metal flowers

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading faux metal flowers at paper, plate, and plane.

meta