publish a photobook

October 19, 2010 § 4 Comments

I recently created a special photobook for O.T., documenting our year’s travels.  It is the second annual “Where We’ve Been” photobook I’ve designed and had published.  I hope to make our travel photobooks a yearly practice, of course with the aspirations of keeping up with an always eventful travel itinerary!  October is a special time for both of us as we celebrate our birthdays, so it is appropriate to open and close the year at this time.

Given my sizable inventory of scrapbooking supplies and tools that I use for cardmaking, it’s a wonder why I didn’t approach this in the form of a scrapbook.  Well…I really love the professional look and polish of photobooks and, being a stationery graphic designer by trade, I opted to spend the hours on page layouts on my computer, as opposed to all of the cutting and gluing and embellishing.

Overall, I am very pleased with the quality of these books and highly encourage you to try out a little bit of photobooking yourself!

The full-print, full-bleed soft covers: O & M, Where We've Been, 2008-2009 and 2009-2010. The cover pages were taken at Ed Levin County Park and Yosemite National Park, California, respectively.

The back pages: O.T. hiking in Ed Levin County Park, California. Myself inside the Topkapi Palace Harem, Istanbul, Turkey.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to publish a photobook

  • Lili says:

    Jer! you are so creative! and those photobooks are gorgeous! Where do you get them printed? I’ve been trying to look into places to possibly do them for engagement and wedding photos.

  • Thanks so much, Lili!

    I had these printed at Photobook Canada, which has a location at Hwy 7 and Leslie in Richmond Hill. They occasionally have deals through groupon, and so far they’ve had 40% off in August/September for the past 2 years that I’ve done this.

    I’m very happy about their quality and the fact that you don’t have to pay for shipping if you pick-up from their location. But I can’t really compare them to other companies, since these are the only photobooks I’ve done.

    -jer

  • Natalie says:

    Jer, that book looks so cool. I would love to find pictures of our travels (ie. our many cruises) and put them in a photobook.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading publish a photobook at paper, plate, and plane.

meta

